Skip to content

Board of Directors

Chair, Graeme Harper, Professor and Dean of The Honors College, Oakland University

Secretary, Jon Udelson, Assistant Professor of English, Shenandoah University

Treasurer, David Haydon, Doctoral Student, University of Southern California 

Chair of Research, C. Connor Syrewicz, Doctoral Student, State University of New York – Albany

Interim Chair of Diversity, Equity and InclusionDanita Berg, MFA Director at Goddard College and Online Chair of Liberal Studies at Florida Institute of Technology

Chair of Membership, Khem K. Aryal, Assistant Professor, Arkansas State University

Chair of Publications, Audrey T. Heffers, Independent Researcher 

Chair of Communications, Alexa Garvoille, Humanities Instructor, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics

Board Member, Tim Mayers, Associate Professor of English, Millersville University

Board Member, Evan Lavender-Smith, Assistant Professor of English, Virginia Tech

Board Member, Stacey Waite, Associate Professor, University of Nebraska – Lincoln

Non-Voting Board Members

AWP Liaison, Stephanie Vanderslice, Professor and Director of Arkansas Writers MFA Workshop, University of Central Arkansas

Additional Non-Voting Members (Organization Liaisons), Vacant

Previous Board Members

Chair (Inaugural, 2016-2019), Stephanie Vanderslice, Professor and Director of Arkansas Writers MFA Workshop, University of Central Arkansas

Secretary (Inaugural, 2016-2019), Trent Hergenrader, Associate Professor of English, Rochester Institute of Technology

JCWS Liaison (Inaugural, 2016-2021)James Ryan, Graduate Teaching Assistant in English, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Chair of Membership (-2021), Phong Nguyen, Professor of English and Miller Family Endowed Chair of Writing, University of Missouri

Conferences Chair (Inaugural, 2016-2022), Rachel Haley Himmelheber, Chair of Creative Writing, Warren Wilson College

Board Member (Inaugural, 2016-2021), Jen Webb, Distinguished Professor of Creative Practice, University of Canberra

Board Member (Inaugural, 2016-2021), Dianne Donnelly, College of Arts & Sciences Assistant Dean of Research, University of South Florida

Chair of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (2021-2022), Felicia Rose Chavez, Creativity and Innovation Scholar-in-Residence, Colorado College

Co-Chair of Research, Caleb González, PhD in English Candidate, The Ohio State University

Chair of Research, Janelle Adsit, Assistant Professor of Writing Practices, Humboldt State University


Initial Working Group and Advisors

Darin Ciccotelli, Assistant Professor of Rhetoric and Composition, Soka University

Katharine Haake, Professor of English, California State University, Northridge

Tonya Hegamin, Assistant Professor of English, City University of New York, Medgar Evers College

Jeri Kroll, Professor and Dean of Graduate Research, Flinders University

Anna Leahy, Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Research, Chapman University

Prageeta Sharma, Professor of English, University of Montana

Julie Alexander, Miami University

Karen Babine, Concordia College